Lintian Reports

I should-specify-rules-requires-root

All reports of should-specify-rules-requires-root for the archive. The extended description of this tag is:

This package builds a binary package containing at least one path with a UNIX ownership other than "root:root". It therefore requires fakeroot(1) or similar to build its binary targets.

Traditionally, Debian packages have required root privileges for some debian/rules target requiring a split between build and binary targets. This makes the builds slower due to the increased amount of invocations as well as the overhead of fakeroot itself.

By declaring when a package really does require root privileges the default, archive-wide, behaviour can be switched, optimising packaging build times in the common case.

Please specify (eg.) Rules-Requires-Root: binary-targets in the debian/control source stanza.

Refer to /usr/share/doc/dpkg-dev/rootless-builds.txt.gz for details.

Severity: wishlist, Certainty: certain

Check: control-file, Type: source

Emitted (non-overridden): 98, overridden: 0, total: 98

The package names link to the relevant maintainer page and the corresponding report for the source package. The links go to the full maintainer report page, which includes info and experimental tags and overridden tags, rather than the default page that shows only errors and warnings.

amanda 1:3.5.1-2 (source) (Jose M Calhariz <calhariz@debian.org>)

animals 201207131226-2.1 (source) (Alberto Fuentes <pajaro@gmail.com>)

anope 2.0.6-1 (source) (Dominic Hargreaves <dom@earth.li>)

argus 2:3.0.8.2-1 (source) (Michael Stone <mstone@debian.org>)

asciijump 1.0.2~beta-10 (source) (Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

asylum 0.3.2-3 (source) (Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

at 3.1.23-1 (source) (Jose M Calhariz <calhariz@debian.org>)

bastet 0.43-5 (source) (Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

bombardier 0.8.3+nmu1 (source) (Gergely Risko <risko@debian.org>)

bopm 3.1.3-3 (source) (Martin Wuertele <maxx@debian.org>)

bsdgames 2.17-28 (source) (Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

bsdmainutils 11.1.2 (source) (Debian Bsdmainutils Team <pkg-bsdmainutils@teams.debian.net>)

bzflag 2.4.18-1 (source) (Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

crossfire 1.71.0+dfsg1-2 (source) (Kari Pahula <kaol@debian.org>)

dd2 0.2.2-3 (source) (Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

dma 0.11-1 (source) (Arno Töll <arno@debian.org>)

dopewars 1.5.12-19 (source) (Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

efax 1:0.9a-19.1 (source) (MJ Ray (Debian) <mjr@debian.org>)

emboss-explorer 2.2.0-10 (source) (Debian Med Packaging Team <debian-med-packaging@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

filler 1.02-6.2 (source) (James Damour (Suvarov454) <suvarov454@users.sourceforge.net>)

flexbackup 1.2.1-6.4 (source) (Kurt B. Kaiser <kbk@shore.net>)

freeipmi 1.6.3-1.1 (source) (Bernd Zeimetz <bzed@debian.org>)

freesweep 1.0.1-1 (source) (Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

greed 4.2-1 (source) (Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

gridsite 3.0.0~20180202git2fdbc6f-1 (source) (Mattias Ellert <mattias.ellert@physics.uu.se>)

gtkballs 3.1.5-11 (source) (Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

haci 0.98c-2 (source) (TANIGUCHI Takaki <takaki@debian.org>)

hannah 1.0-3 (source) (Margarita Manterola <marga@debian.org>)

homer-api 5.0.6+dfsg2-3.1 (source) (Debian VoIP Team <pkg-voip-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

hylafax 3:6.0.6-8.1 (source) (Giuseppe Sacco <eppesuig@debian.org>)

i810switch 0.6.5-7.1 (source) (James Bromberger <jeb@debian.org>)

icebreaker 1.21-12 (source) (Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

ircd-hybrid 1:8.2.24+dfsg.1-1 (source) (Dominic Hargreaves <dom@earth.li>)

ircd-irc2 2.11.2p3~dfsg-5 (source) (Kurt Roeckx <kurt@roeckx.be>)

ircd-ircu 2.10.12.10.dfsg1-3 (source) (Martin Loschwitz <madkiss@debian.org>)

jazip 0.34-15.1 (source) (Peter S Galbraith <psg@debian.org>)

kppp 4:17.08.3-1 (source) (Debian/Kubuntu Qt/KDE Maintainers <debian-qt-kde@lists.debian.org>)

lbreakout2 2.6.5-2 (source) (Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

leafnode 1.11.11-1 (source) (Moritz Muehlenhoff <jmm@debian.org>)

liblockfile 1.14-1.1 (source) (Miquel van Smoorenburg <miquels@cistron.nl>)

libutempter 1.1.6-3 (source) (Debian/Kubuntu Qt/KDE Maintainers <debian-qt-kde@lists.debian.org>)

lockfile-progs 0.1.18 (source) (Rob Browning <rlb@defaultvalue.org>)

lpr 1:2008.05.17.3 (source) (Adam Majer <adamm@zombino.com>)

ltris 1.0.19-3 (source) (Colin Tuckley <colint@debian.org>)

maildrop 2.9.3-2 (source) (Josip Rodin <joy-packages@debian.org>)

mc 3:4.8.22-1 (source) (Dmitry Smirnov <onlyjob@debian.org>)

mew 1:6.8-4 (source) (Tatsuya Kinoshita <tats@debian.org>)

mew-beta 7.0.50~6.8+0.20190228-1 (source) (Tatsuya Kinoshita <tats@debian.org>)

mirrormagic 3.0.0+dfsg2-1 (source) (Drew Parsons <dparsons@debian.org>)

modsecurity-apache 2.9.3-1 (source) (Alberto Gonzalez Iniesta <agi@inittab.org>)

moon-buggy 1:1.0.51-12 (source) (Christian T. Steigies <cts@debian.org>)

moria 5.7.10+20181022-3 (source) (Phil Brooke <pjb@debian.org>)

netqmail 1.06-6 (source) (Gerrit Pape <pape@smarden.org>)

nullmailer 1:2.2-3 (source) (David Bremner <bremner@debian.org>)

nwall 1.32+debian-4.2 (source) (Luis Uribe <acme@eviled.org>)

omega-rpg 1:0.90-pa9-16 (source) (Guus Sliepen <guus@debian.org>)

openguides 0.82-2 (source) (Dominic Hargreaves <dom@earth.li>)

openuniverse 1.0beta3.1+dfsg-6 (source) (Javier Fernandez-Sanguino Peña <jfs@debian.org>)

orville-write 2.55-3 (source) (Shane Wegner <shane@debian.org>)

pachi 1:1.0-9 (source) (Martin A. Godisch <godisch@debian.org>)

petris 1.0.1-10 (source) (Andree Leidenfrost <andree@debian.org>)

phalanx 22+d051004-14 (source) (Jose G. López <josgalo@gmail.com>)

php-dompdf 0.6.2+dfsg-3 (source) (Debian PHP PEAR Maintainers <pkg-php-pear@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

phpliteadmin 1.9.7.1-2 (source) (Nicholas Guriev <guriev-ns@ya.ru>)

phpwebcounter 1.0-5 (source) (Gilmar dos Reis Queiroz <gilmardosreislpi@gmail.com>)

procmail 3.22-26 (source) (Santiago Vila <sanvila@debian.org>)

pwauth 2.3.11-0.2 (source) (Hai Zaar <haizaar@haizaar.com>)

quickml 0.7-5.1 (source) (Kenshi Muto <kmuto@debian.org>)

rockdodger 1.1.3-2 (source) (Martin A. Godisch <godisch@debian.org>)

rp-pppoe 3.12-1.2 (source) (Andreas Barth <aba@not.so.argh.org>)

sauce 0.9.0+nmu3 (source) (Ian Jackson <ian@davenant.greenend.org.uk>)

shadow 1:4.5-1.1 (source) (Shadow package maintainers <pkg-shadow-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

simpleid 0.8.1-15 (source) (Debian Authentication Maintainers <pkg-auth-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

slashem 0.0.7E7F3-9 (source) (Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

smartlist 3.15-25 (source) (Santiago Vila <sanvila@debian.org>)

snake4 1.0.14-1 (source) (Alexandre Dantas <eu@alexdantas.net>)

suck 4.3.4-1 (source) (Christian Marillat <marillat@debian.org>)

tenmado 0.10-3 (source) (Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

tetrinetx 1.13.16-14 (source) (Julien Danjou <acid@debian.org>)

tome 2.4~0.git.2015.12.29-1.2 (source) (Manoj Srivastava <srivasta@debian.org>)

toppler 1.1.6-3 (source) (Bill Allombert <ballombe@debian.org>)

typespeed 0.6.5-2.1 (source) (Dafydd Harries <daf@debian.org>)

umegaya 1.0 (source) (Charles Plessy <plessy@debian.org>)

uucp 1.07-26 (source) (Thorsten Alteholz <debian@alteholz.de>)

uucpsend 1.1-4.1 (source) (Martin Schulze <joey@debian.org>)

uw-imap 8:2007f~dfsg-6 (source) (Magnus Holmgren <holmgren@debian.org>)

whiteboard 0.1~2-1 (source) (Roland Stigge <stigge@antcom.de>)

wordpress 5.1.1+dfsg1-1 (source) (Craig Small <csmall@debian.org>)

xbill 2.1-8 (source) (Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

xbomb 2.2b-1 (source) (Alexandre Dantas <eu@alexdantas.net>)

xemacs21 21.4.24-8 (source) (Mark Brown <broonie@debian.org>)

xgalaga++ 0.9-2 (source) (Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

xiterm+thai 1.10-2 (source) (Neutron Soutmun <neo.neutron@gmail.com>)

xjump 2.7.5-6.2 (source) (Samuel Mimram <smimram@debian.org>)

xletters 1.1.1-5 (source) (Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

xpat2 1.07-20 (source) (Arne Wichmann <aw@saar.de>)

xtrlock 2.8 (source) (Matthew Vernon <matthew@debian.org>)

zangband 1:2.7.5pre1-12 (source) (Markus Koschany <apo@debian.org>)