Lintian Reports

I development-package-ships-elf-binary-in-path

All reports of development-package-ships-elf-binary-in-path for the archive. The extended description of this tag is:

This development package (ie. from the libdevel section of the archive) installs an ELF binary within $PATH.

Commonly, executables in development packages provide values that are relevant for using the library. Source packages that use such development packages tend to execute those executables to discover how to use the library.

When performing a cross build, host architecture binaries are generally not executable. However, development packages need to be installed on the host architecture so such files are useless.

An alternative approach is to use pkg-config(1) or potentially splitting architecture-independent development tools into a separate package that can be marked Multi-Arch: foreign.

Refer to https://bugs.debian.org/794295 and https://bugs.debian.org/794103 for details.

Severity: minor, Certainty: possible

Check: binaries, Type: binary, udeb

This tag is marked experimental, which means that the code that generates it is not as well-tested as the rest of Lintian and might still give surprising results. Feel free to ignore experimental tags that do not seem to make sense, though of course bug reports are always welcome.

Evolution of the development-package-ships-elf-binary-in-path Lintian tag over the past 366 days:

The beforementioned graph for the development-package-ships-elf-binary-in-path tag

Emitted (non-overridden): 367, overridden: 10, total: 377

The package names link to the relevant maintainer page and the corresponding report for the source package. The links go to the full maintainer report page, which includes info and experimental tags and overridden tags, rather than the default page that shows only errors and warnings.

botan 2.6.0-3 (binary) (Laszlo Boszormenyi (GCS) <gcs@debian.org>)

botan 2.7.0-1 (binary) (Laszlo Boszormenyi (GCS) <gcs@debian.org>)

chipmunk-dev 6.1.5-1+b1 (binary) (Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

clearsilver-dev 0.10.5-3+b1 (binary) (Debian QA Group <packages@qa.debian.org>)

dssi-host-jack 1.1.1~dfsg0-1+b2 (binary) (Debian Multimedia Maintainers <pkg-multimedia-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

dssi-utils 1.1.1~dfsg0-1+b2 (binary) (Debian Multimedia Maintainers <pkg-multimedia-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

gambas3-runtime 3.11.4-6 (binary) (Debian Gambas Team <team+debian-gambas@tracker.debian.org>)

geis-tools 2.2.17-1.2+b1 (binary) (Stephen M. Webb <stephen.webb@bregmasoft.ca>)

glslang-tools 7.8.2853-2 (binary) (Debian X Strike Force <debian-x@lists.debian.org>)

grail-tools 3.1.1-2 (binary) (Debian QA Group <packages@qa.debian.org>)

kdelibs5-dev 4:4.14.38-3 (binary) (Debian/Kubuntu Qt/KDE Maintainers <debian-qt-kde@lists.debian.org>)

kdepimlibs5-dev 4:4.14.10-10 (binary) (Debian/Kubuntu Qt/KDE Maintainers <debian-qt-kde@lists.debian.org>)

liba52-0.7.4-dev 0.7.4-19 (binary) (Debian Multimedia Maintainers <pkg-multimedia-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

liballegro4-dev 2:4.4.2-13 (binary) (Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

libaria-demo 2.8.0+repack-1.2 (binary) (Srećko Jurić-Kavelj <srecko.juric-kavelj@fer.hr>)

libassa-3.5-5-dev 3.5.1-6+b1 (binary) (Riley Baird <BM-2cVqnDuYbAU5do2DfJTrN7ZbAJ246S4XiX@bitmessage.ch>)

libbg-dev 2.04+dfsg-2 (binary) (Dmitry Bogatov <KAction@debian.org>)

libbogl-dev 0.1.18-13 (binary) (Samuel Thibault <sthibault@debian.org>)

libcamitk-dev 4.1.2-2+b1 (binary) (Debian Med Packaging Team <debian-med-packaging@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

libcamitk-dev 4.1.2-2 (binary) (Debian Med Packaging Team <debian-med-packaging@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

libcpluff0-dev 0.1.4+dfsg1-1+b2 (binary) (Johannes Lehtinen <johannes.lehtinen@iki.fi>)

libctemplate-dev 2.3-3+b1 (binary) (Debian KDE Extras Team <pkg-kde-extras@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

libcubew-dev 4.4~rc2-1 (binary) (Debian HPC Team <debian-hpc@lists.debian.org>)

libdbuskit-dev 0.1.1-3+b1 (binary) (Debian GNUstep maintainers <pkg-gnustep-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

libdkim-dev 1:1.0.21-4+b1 (binary) (Magnus Holmgren <holmgren@debian.org>)

libdumbnet-dev 1.12-8 (binary) (Debian QA Group <packages@qa.debian.org>)

libecpg-dev 11.1-1+b2 (binary) (Debian PostgreSQL Maintainers <pkg-postgresql-public@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

libefl-all-dev 1.21.1-3 (binary) (Debian Pkg-e Team <pkg-e-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

libfox-1.6-dev 1.6.57-1 (binary) (Fabian Wolff <fabi.wolff@arcor.de>)

libfreesrp-dev 0.3.0-2 (binary) (A. Maitland Bottoms <bottoms@debian.org>)

libgcrypt20-dev 1.8.4-4 (binary) (Debian GnuTLS Maintainers <pkg-gnutls-maint@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

libgimp2.0-dev 2.10.8-1 (binary) (Debian GNOME Maintainers <pkg-gnome-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

libgpgme-dev 1.12.0-4 (binary) (Debian GnuPG-Maintainers <pkg-gnupg-maint@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

libgss-dev 1.0.3-3 (binary) (Debian GSS Team <help-gss@gnu.org>)

libgusb-dev 0.3.0-1 (binary) (Michal Čihař <nijel@debian.org>)

libhtmlcxx-dev 0.86-1.3 (binary) (Ludovico Cavedon <cavedon@debian.org>)

libiec61883-dev 1.2.0-3 (binary) (Debian QA Group <packages@qa.debian.org>)

libinput-tools 1.12.1-1 (binary) (Debian X Strike Force <debian-x@lists.debian.org>)

libinsighttoolkit4-dev 4.12.2-dfsg1-4+b1 (binary) (Debian Med Packaging Team <debian-med-packaging@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

libinsighttoolkit4-dev 4.13.0-dfsg1-2~exp1 (binary) (Debian Med Packaging Team <debian-med-packaging@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

libirman-dev 0.5.2-2 (binary) (Debian Lirc Team <team+debian-lirc@tracker.debian.org>)

libixp-dev 0.6~20121202+hg148-2+b1 (binary) (Andrej Shadura <andrewsh@debian.org>)

libjsonrpccpp-tools 0.7.0-1+b3 (binary) (Peter Spiess-Knafl <dev@spiessknafl.at>)

libkf5akonadi-dev 4:18.08.1-1+b1 (binary) (Debian/Kubuntu Qt/KDE Maintainers <debian-qt-kde@lists.debian.org>)

libkf5jsembed-dev 5.51.0-1 (binary) (Debian/Kubuntu Qt/KDE Maintainers <debian-qt-kde@lists.debian.org>)

libkf5kjs-dev 5.51.0-1 (binary) (Debian/Kubuntu Qt/KDE Maintainers <debian-qt-kde@lists.debian.org>)

libmailutils-dev 1:3.5-1 (binary) (Jordi Mallach <jordi@debian.org>)

libmariadb-dev 1:3.0.7-2 (binary) (Debian MySQL Maintainers <pkg-mysql-maint@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

libmozjs-52-dev 52.9.1-1 (binary) (Debian GNOME Maintainers <pkg-gnome-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

libmozjs-60-dev 60.2.3-2 (binary) (Debian GNOME Maintainers <pkg-gnome-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

libmrml1-dev 0.1.14+ds-1 (binary) (Debian QA Group <packages@qa.debian.org>)

libmshr-dev 2018.1.0+dfsg1-7+b2 (binary) (Debian Science Team <debian-science-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

libnova-dev 0.16-2 (binary) (Debian/Kubuntu Qt/KDE Maintainers <debian-qt-kde@lists.debian.org>)

liboctave-dev 4.4.1-2+b1 (binary) (Debian Octave Group <team+pkg-octave-team@tracker.debian.org>)

libopen-trace-format-dev 1.12.5+dfsg-3 (binary) (Samuel Thibault <sthibault@debian.org>)

libopenafs-dev 1.8.2-1 (binary) (Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>)

libopencsd-bin 0.10.1-1 (binary) (Wookey <wookey@debian.org>)

libopencv-dev 3.2.0+dfsg-5 (binary) (Debian Science Team <debian-science-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

libopencv-dev 3.4.4+dfsg-1~exp1 (binary) (Debian Science Team <debian-science-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

liborc-0.4-dev-bin 1:0.4.28-3 (binary) (Maintainers of GStreamer packages <orc@packages.debian.org>)

libphysfs-dev 3.0.1-3.1 (binary) (Patrick Matthäi <pmatthaei@debian.org>) overridden

libpion-dev 5.0.7+dfsg-4 (binary) (Athena Capital Research <acr-debian@athenacr.com>)

libpocl-dev 1.2~rc2-1 (binary) (Debian OpenCL Maintainers <pkg-opencl-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

libpocl-dev 1.1-7 (binary) (Debian OpenCL Maintainers <pkg-opencl-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

libpocl-dev 1.1-6 (binary) (Debian OpenCL Maintainers <pkg-opencl-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

libpolyorb4-dev 2.11~20140418-5 (binary) (Xavier Grave <xavier.grave@csnsm.in2p3.fr>)

libpomp2-dev 2.0.4-1 (binary) (Samuel Thibault <sthibault@debian.org>)

libqb-dev 1.0.3-2 (binary) (Debian HA Maintainers <debian-ha-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>) overridden

libqimageblitz-dev 1:0.0.6-5 (binary) (Debian/Kubuntu Qt/KDE Maintainers <debian-qt-kde@lists.debian.org>)

libquantlib0-dev 1.14-1+b1 (binary) (Dirk Eddelbuettel <edd@debian.org>)

librados-dev 12.2.8+dfsg1-5 (binary) (Ceph Maintainers <ceph-maintainers@lists.ceph.com>)

librazorqt0-dev 0.5.2-4+b1 (binary) (Manuel A. Fernandez Montecelo <mafm@debian.org>)

librep-dev 0.92.5-3+b4 (binary) (Jose M Calhariz <jose@calhariz.com>)

librep-dev 0.92.7-1 (binary) (Jose M Calhariz <jose@calhariz.com>)

libroar-dev 1.0~beta11-11 (binary) (Patrick Matthäi <pmatthaei@debian.org>) overridden

librsb-dev 1.2.0-rc7-5+b1 (binary) (Debian Science Team <debian-science-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

libruli-bin 0.33-1.1+b2 (binary) (Everton da Silva Marques <evertonsm@yahoo.com.br>)

libsc-dev 2.3.1-18+b3 (binary) (Debichem Team <debichem-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

libsimgrid-dev 3.21+dfsg-4 (binary) (Martin Quinson <mquinson@debian.org>)

libsoldout-utils 1.4-2 (binary) (Massimo Manghi <mxmanghi@apache.org>)

libswe-dev 1.80.00.0002-1+b1 (binary) (Paul Elliott <pelliott@blackpatchpanel.com>)

libswiften-dev 2.0+dev6-1+b1 (binary) (Swift Package Maintainer <packages@swift.im>)

libswiften-dev 3.0.4-1 (binary) (Swift Package Maintainer <packages@swift.im>)

libtemplates-parser12-dev 19-2 (binary) (Ludovic Brenta <lbrenta@debian.org>)

libtextwrap-dev 0.1-14.2 (binary) (Anibal Monsalve Salazar <anibal@debian.org>)

libtntnet-dev 2.2.1-3+b1 (binary) (Kari Pahula <kaol@debian.org>)

libtolua++5.1-dev 1.0.93-3+b1 (binary) (Vincent Cheng <Vincentc1208@gmail.com>)

libtolua-dev 5.2.0-1+b1 (binary) (Jimmy Kaplowitz <jimmy@debian.org>)

libtowitoko-dev 2.0.7-9+b1 (binary) (Simon Richter <sjr@debian.org>)

libtranscript-dev 0.3.3-1 (binary) (Gertjan Halkes <debian@ghalkes.nl>)

libvoikko-dev 4.2-0.1 (binary) (Timo Jyrinki <timo@debian.org>)

libwnck-3-dev 3.30.0-1 (binary) (Debian GNOME Maintainers <pkg-gnome-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

libxgks-dev 2.6.1+dfsg.2-5+b1 (binary) (Alastair McKinstry <mckinstry@debian.org>)

libxmlrpc-core-c3-dev 1.33.14-8+b1 (binary) (Debian QA Group <packages@qa.debian.org>)

libykclient-dev 2.15-2 (binary) (Debian Authentication Maintainers <pkg-auth-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

libyubikey-dev 1.13-3 (binary) (Debian Authentication Maintainers <team+auth@tracker.debian.org>)

lv2-c++-tools 1.0.5-4+b1 (binary) (Debian Multimedia Maintainers <pkg-multimedia-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

mtdev-tools 1.1.5-1+b1 (binary) (Nobuhiro Iwamatsu <iwamatsu@debian.org>)

nordugrid-arc-dev 5.4.3-2 (binary) (Mattias Ellert <mattias.ellert@physics.uu.se>)

ntfs-3g-dev 1:2017.3.23-2 (binary) (Laszlo Boszormenyi (GCS) <gcs@debian.org>)

ntfs-3g-dev 1:2017.3.23AR.3-1 (binary) (Laszlo Boszormenyi (GCS) <gcs@debian.org>)

paraview-dev 5.4.1+dfsg4-3.1+b2 (binary) (Debian Science Team <debian-science-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)