Lintian Reports

E description-starts-with-package-name

All reports of description-starts-with-package-name for the archive. The extended description of this tag is:

The first line of the "Description:" should not start with the package name. For example, the package foo should not have a description like this: "foo is a program that...".

Refer to Debian Policy Manual section 3.4.1 (The single line synopsis) for details.

Severity: important, Certainty: certain

Check: description, Type: binary, udeb

Evolution of the description-starts-with-package-name Lintian tag over the past 366 days:

The beforementioned graph for the description-starts-with-package-name tag

Emitted (non-overridden): 15, overridden: 17, total: 32

The package names link to the relevant maintainer page and the corresponding report for the source package. The links go to the full maintainer report page, which includes info and experimental tags and overridden tags, rather than the default page that shows only errors and warnings.

2to3 3.7.1-2 (binary) (Matthias Klose <doko@debian.org>)


anna 1.69 (udeb) (Debian Install System Team <debian-boot@lists.debian.org>)


autofdo 0.18-2 (binary) (Debian GCC Maintainers <debian-gcc@lists.debian.org>) overridden


base58 1.0.0-2 (binary) (Debian Python Modules Team <python-modules-team@lists.alioth.debian.org>) overridden


bluetooth 5.50-1 (binary) (Debian Bluetooth Maintainers <team+pkg-bluetooth@tracker.debian.org>) overridden


cernlib 20061220+dfsg3-4.3 (binary) (Debian Science Team <debian-science-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>) overridden


dracut 048+80-1 (binary) (Thomas Lange <lange@debian.org>)


gpac 0.5.2-426-gc5ad4e4+dfsg5-4+b1 (binary) (Debian Multimedia Team <debian-multimedia@lists.debian.org>) overridden


intercal 30:0.30-2 (binary) (Mark Brown <broonie@debian.org>)


jaxb 2.3.0.1-7 (binary) (Debian Java Maintainers <pkg-java-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)


jhove 1.20.1-4 (binary) (Debian Java Maintainers <pkg-java-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)


nim 0.19.0-1 (binary) (Federico Ceratto <federico@debian.org>) overridden


perl6 6.d-1 (binary) (Debian Rakudo Maintainers <pkg-rakudo-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)


pipewire 0.2.3-3 (binary) (Utopia Maintenance Team <pkg-utopia-maintainers@alioth-lists.debian.net>)


pulseaudio 12.2-2 (binary) (Pulseaudio maintenance team <pkg-pulseaudio-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>) overridden


scala 2.11.12-4 (binary) (Debian Java Maintainers <pkg-java-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>) overridden


snmp 5.7.3+dfsg-4+b1 (binary) (Net-SNMP Packaging Team <pkg-net-snmp-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>) overridden


spark 2012.0.deb-11+b3 (binary) (Євгеній Мещеряков <eugen@debian.org>) overridden


tint 0.04+nmu1+b3 (binary) (Mario Lang <mlang@debian.org>)


umegaya 1.0 (binary) (Charles Plessy <plessy@debian.org>) overridden


xwayland 2:1.20.3-1 (binary) (Debian X Strike Force <debian-x@lists.debian.org>)