Lintian Reports

W debug-file-with-no-debug-symbols

All reports of debug-file-with-no-debug-symbols for the archive. The extended description of this tag is:

The binary is installed as a detached "debug symbols" ELF file, but it does not appear to have debug information associated with it.

A common cause is not passing -g to GCC when compiling.

Implementation detail: Lintian checks for the ".debug_line" and the ".debug_str" sections. If either of these are present, the binary is assumed to contain debug information.

Refer to for details.

Severity: normal, Certainty: possible

Check: binaries, Type: binary, udeb

Emitted (non-overridden): 47, overridden: 0, total: 47

The package names link to the relevant maintainer page and the corresponding report for the source package. The links go to the full maintainer report page, which includes info and experimental tags and overridden tags, rather than the default page that shows only errors and warnings.

gtrayicon-dbg 1.1-1+b2 (binary) (Taylor LeMasurier-Wren <>)

libkyotocabinet16v5-dbg 1.2.76-4.2+b1 (binary) (Shawn Landden <>)

libmadlib-dbg 1.3.0-2.1 (binary) (Christophe Prud'homme <>)

libmm-dbg 1.4.2-5+b2 (binary) (Mark Brown <>)

libomxil-bellagio0-components-base-dbg 0.9.3-4.1 (binary) (Ying-Chun Liu (PaulLiu) <>)

libomxil-bellagio0-dbg 0.9.3-4.1 (binary) (Ying-Chun Liu (PaulLiu) <>)

libtuxcap4.0-dbg 1.4.0.dfsg2-2.3+b3 (binary) (Debian Games Team <>)

ns2-dbg 2.35+dfsg-3+b1 (binary) (Debian Network Simulators Team <>)

pfqueue-dbg 0.5.6-9+b3 (binary) (Martin Zobel-Helas <>)

vowpal-wabbit-dbg 8.6.1.dfsg1-1+b1 (binary) (Yaroslav Halchenko <>)