Lintian Reports

W new-package-should-not-package-python2-module

All reports of new-package-should-not-package-python2-module for the archive. The extended description of this tag is:

This package appears to be the initial packaging of a new upstream software package (ie. it contains a single changelog entry). However, it ships the specified module for Python 2.

Python 2.x modules should not be packaged unless strictly necessary (such as being explicitly requested by an end-user or required as part of a dependency chain) as the 2.x series of Python is due for deprecation and will not be maintained by upstream past 2020 and will likely be dropped after the release of Debian "buster".

If upstream have not moved or have no intention to move to Python 3, please be certain that Debian would benefit from the inclusion, continued maintenance burden and (eventual) removal of this package before you upload.

This warning can be ignored if the package is not intended for Debian or if it is a split of an existing Debian package. This warning can also be ignored if viewed on https://lintian.debian.org/.

Please do not override this warning; rather, add a justification to your changelog entry; Lintian looks in this version's changelog entry for the specified package name or the phrase "Python 2 version" or similar. This will ensure that any rationale is preserved for posterity.

Severity: normal, Certainty: certain

Check: python, Type: source, binary

Emitted (non-overridden): 54, overridden: 2, total: 56

The package names link to the relevant maintainer page and the corresponding report for the source package. The links go to the full maintainer report page, which includes info and experimental tags and overridden tags, rather than the default page that shows only errors and warnings.

python-aiodns 1.1.1-1 (binary) (Tanguy Ortolo <tanguy+debian@ortolo.eu>)

python-aws-xray-sdk 0.95-1 (binary) (Debian Science Maintainers <debian-science-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

python-backports.os 0.1.1-1 (binary) (Debian Python Modules Team <python-modules-team@lists.alioth.debian.org>) overridden

python-backup2swift 0.8-1 (binary) (Kouhei Maeda <mkouhei@palmtb.net>)

python-bitbucket 0.1-1 (binary) (David Villa Alises <David.Villa@uclm.es>)

python-bitcoin 1.1.42-1 (binary) (Ben Finney <bignose@debian.org>)

python-cdiff 1.0-1 (binary) (Michael Banck <mbanck@debian.org>)

python-constantly 15.1.0-1 (binary) (Free Ekanayaka <freee@debian.org>)

python-convertdate 2.1.3-1 (binary) (Antoine Beaupré <anarcat@debian.org>)

python-css-parser 1.0.4-1 (binary) (Debian Python Modules Team <python-modules-team@lists.alioth.debian.org>) overridden

python-dlt 0.9-1 (binary) (Aigars Mahinovs <aigarius@debian.org>)

python-dltlyse 0.9-1 (binary) (Aigars Mahinovs <aigarius@debian.org>)

python-ebooklib 0.15~ds0-1 (binary) (Daniel James <daniel@64studio.com>)

python-fakesleep 0.1-1 (binary) (Debian Python Modules Team <python-modules-team@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

python-fcgi 19980130-1 (binary) (Marc Haber <mh+debian-packages@zugschlus.de>)

python-fftw 0.2.2-1+b1 (binary) (Jerome Kieffer <jerome.kieffer@esrf.fr>)

python-flask-flatpages 0.6-1 (binary) (Orestis Ioannou <orestis@oioannou.com>)

python-flask-principal 0.4.0-1 (binary) (Tonnerre Lombard <tonnerre@ancient-solutions.com>)

python-fmcs 1.0-1 (binary) (Debichem Team <debichem-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

python-gcm-client 0.1.4-1 (binary) (Zulip Debian Packaging Team <debian@zulip.com>)

python-jsonext 0.4.1-1 (binary) (Ben Finney <bignose@debian.org>)

python-krbv 1.0.90-1+b1 (binary) (Debian FreeIPA Team <pkg-freeipa-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

python-lazyarray 0.1.0-1 (binary) (NeuroDebian Team <team@neuro.debian.net>)

python-libguess 1.1-1 (binary) (Andrej Shadura <andrewsh@debian.org>)

python-libmapper 0.3~git+20141027-1+b1 (binary) (Debian Multimedia Maintainers <pkg-multimedia-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

python-libthumbor 1.3.2-1 (binary) (Debian Python Modules Team <python-modules-team@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

python-logging-tree 1.4-1 (binary) (Federico Ceratto <federico.ceratto@gmail.com>)

python-mk-livestatus 0.2-1 (binary) (Arthur Vuillard <arthur@hashbang.fr>)

python-nb2plots 0.6-1 (binary) (Sandro Tosi <morph@debian.org>)

python-nototools 0~20170925-1 (binary) (Debian Fonts Task Force <pkg-fonts-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

python-paisley 0.3.1-1 (binary) (Micah Anderson <micah@debian.org>)

python-phpserialize 1.3-1 (binary) (Tristan Seligmann <mithrandi@debian.org>)

python-psycogreen 1.0-1 (binary) (Dmitry Smirnov <onlyjob@debian.org>)

python-pydispatch 2.0.5-1 (binary) (Debian Python Modules Team <python-modules-team@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

python-pyeos 0.63-1 (binary) (Vincent Bernat <bernat@debian.org>)

python-pyethash 0.1.27-1+b1 (binary) (Ben Finney <bignose@debian.org>)

python-pynwb 0.5.1-1 (binary) (Yaroslav Halchenko <debian@onerussian.com>)

python-pyramid-multiauth 0.8.0-1 (binary) (David Douard <david.douard@logilab.fr>)

python-pyssim 0.2-1 (binary) (Debian Python Modules Team <python-modules-team@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

python-pyst 0.6.50-1 (binary) (Debian VoIP Team <pkg-voip-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

python-pyte 0.4.8-1 (binary) (Andrej Shadura <andrewsh@debian.org>)

python-pytest-expect 1.1.0-1 (binary) (Debian Python Modules Team <python-modules-team@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

python-pyxenstore 0.0.2-1+b1 (binary) (PKG Xen Devel <pkg-xen-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

python-rediscluster 1.3.3-1 (binary) (Debian Python Modules Team <python-modules-team@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

python-rlp 0.5.1-1 (binary) (Ben Finney <bignose@debian.org>)

python-schedule 0.3.2-1 (binary) (Donncha O'Cearbhaill <donncha@donncha.is>)

python-sgp4 1.4-1 (binary) (Ulises Vitulli <dererk@debian.org>)

python-sphinxcontrib.youtube 1.0-1 (binary) (Thomi Richards <thomi.richards@canonical.com>)

python-swiftsc 0.5-1 (binary) (Kouhei Maeda <mkouhei@palmtb.net>)

python-tinyrpc 0.6-1 (binary) (Ben Finney <bignose@debian.org>)

python-trie 0.2+ds-1 (binary) (Debian Python Modules Team <python-modules-team@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

python-u-msgpack 2.1-1 (binary) (Debian Python Modules Team <python-modules-team@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

python-vispy 0.4.0-1 (binary) (Debian Science Maintainers <debian-science-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

python-vsgui 0.3.3-1 (binary) (Hsin-Yi Chen (hychen) <ossug.hychen@gmail.com>)

python-wsaccel 0.6.2-1+b1 (binary) (PKG OpenStack <openstack-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

python-xmlbuilder 1.0-1 (binary) (PKG OpenStack <openstack-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>)