Lintian Reports

W manpage-has-useless-whatis-entry

All reports of manpage-has-useless-whatis-entry for the archive. The extended description of this tag is:

The whatis entry for this manual page (the brief description found in the NAME section) is of the form:

     program - manual page for program
    

This conveys no information about what the program is for and is repetitive. The short description should contain brief information about what the program is for to aid in searching with apropos and similar programs.

If this manpage was generated by help2man, use the -n option to provide a more meaningful description.

Severity: normal, Certainty: certain

Check: manpages, Type: binary

Emitted (non-overridden): 112, overridden: 0, total: 112

The package names link to the relevant maintainer page and the corresponding report for the source package. The links go to the full maintainer report page, which includes info and experimental tags and overridden tags, rather than the default page that shows only errors and warnings.

apt-clone 0.4.1 (binary) (Michael Vogt <michael.vogt@ubuntu.com>)

automake 1:1.16.1-4 (binary) (Eric Dorland <eric@debian.org>)

automake-1.15 1:1.15.1-5 (binary) (Eric Dorland <eric@debian.org>)

automake1.11 1:1.11.6-5 (binary) (Eric Dorland <eric@debian.org>)

baitfisher 1.2.7+git20180107.e92dbf2+dfsg-1 (binary) (Debian Med Packaging Team <debian-med-packaging@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

beancount 2.2.3-1 (binary) (Python Applications Packaging Team <python-apps-team@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

can-utils 2018.02.0-1 (binary) (Alexander GQ Gerasiov <gq@debian.org>)

ctioga2 0.14.1-2 (binary) (Vincent Fourmond <fourmond@debian.org>)

gnucobol 2.2-5 (binary) (Ludwin Janvier <lud.janvier@gmail.com>)

google-perftools 2.7-1 (binary) (Laszlo Boszormenyi (GCS) <gcs@debian.org>)

gpiod 1.4.1-3 (binary) (SZ Lin (林上智) <szlin@debian.org>)

groestlcoin-qt 2.17.2~dfsg-1 (binary) (Debian Cryptocoin Team <team+cryptocoin@tracker.debian.org>)

groestlcoin-tx 2.17.2~dfsg-1 (binary) (Debian Cryptocoin Team <team+cryptocoin@tracker.debian.org>)

groestlcoind 2.17.2~dfsg-1 (binary) (Debian Cryptocoin Team <team+cryptocoin@tracker.debian.org>)

grub-legacy 0.97-75 (binary) (GRUB Maintainers <pkg-grub-devel@alioth-lists.debian.net>)

jeuclid-cli 3.1.9-5 (binary) (Debian Science Team <debian-science-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

jube 2.2.2-1 (binary) (Debian HPC Team <debian-hpc@lists.debian.org>)

lilypond 2.19.83-1~exp1 (binary) (Don Armstrong <don@debian.org>)

lilypond 2.19.81+really-2.18.2-13 (binary) (Don Armstrong <don@debian.org>)

maven-debian-helper 2.4 (binary) (Debian Java Maintainers <pkg-java-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

metis 5.1.0.dfsg-5+b2 (binary) (Debian Science Team <debian-science-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

ohcount 4.0.0-1 (binary) (Sylvestre Ledru <sylvestre@debian.org>)

palo 2.12 (binary) (Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>)

python-kid 0.9.6-3 (binary) (Ross Burton <ross@debian.org>)

python-nipy 0.4.2-2 (binary) (NeuroDebian Team <team@neuro.debian.net>)

python3-hug-doc 2.6.0-1 (binary) (Federico Ceratto <federico@debian.org>)

python3-hug-doc 2.4.1-1 (binary) (Federico Ceratto <federico@debian.org>)

python3-sardana 3.0.0a+3.f4f89e+dfsg-2 (binary) (Debian Science Team <debian-science-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

srt-tools 1.4.0-1 (binary) (Federico Ceratto <federico@debian.org>)

swift 2.23.1-1 (binary) (Debian OpenStack <team+openstack@tracker.debian.org>)

tldr 0.4.0.1-1 (binary) (Debian Haskell Group <pkg-haskell-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)

undertaker 1.6.1-4.2+b1 (binary) (Christoph Egger <christoph@debian.org>)

vcdimager 2.0.1+dfsg-3 (binary) (Debian QA Group <packages@qa.debian.org>)

zookeeper-bin 3.4.13-3 (binary) (Debian Java Maintainers <pkg-java-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>)