Lintian Reports

W debconf-is-not-a-registry

All reports of debconf-is-not-a-registry for the archive. The extended description of this tag is:

In the Unix tradition, Debian packages should have human-readable and human-editable configuration files. This package uses debconf commands outside its maintainer scripts, which often indicates that it is taking configuration information directly from the debconf database. Typically, packages should use debconf-supplied information to generate configuration files, and -- to avoid losing configuration information on upgrades -- should parse these configuration files in the config script if it is necessary to ask the user for changes.

Some standalone programs may legitimately use debconf to prompt the user for questions. If you maintain a package containing such a program, please install an override. Other exceptions to this check include configuration scripts called from the package's post-installation script.

Refer to Debian Developer's Reference section 6.5.1 (Do not abuse debconf) and the debconf-devel(7) manual page for details.

Severity: important, Certainty: wild-guess

Check: debconf, Type: binary, udeb, source

Emitted (non-overridden): 17, overridden: 69, total: 86

The package names link to the relevant maintainer page and the corresponding report for the source package. The links go to the full maintainer report page, which includes info and experimental tags and overridden tags, rather than the default page that shows only errors and warnings.

bgoffice-dict-downloader 0.10 (binary) (Damyan Ivanov <dmn@debian.org>)

configure-debian 1.0.3 (binary) (David Nusinow <dnusinow@debian.org>)

console-common 0.7.91 (binary) (Alastair McKinstry <mckinstry@debian.org>)

dbconfig-common 2.0.12 (binary) (Paul Gevers <elbrus@debian.org>)

debian-edu-config 2.10.67 (binary) (Debian Edu Developers <debian-edu@lists.debian.org>) overridden

debian-edu-install 2.11.1 (binary) (Debian Edu Developers <debian-edu@lists.debian.org>) overridden

debian-installer-launcher 35 (binary) (Debian QA Group <packages@qa.debian.org>) overridden

debian-security-support 2019.06.13 (binary) (Holger Levsen <holger@debian.org>) overridden

dictionaries-common 1.28.1 (binary) (Agustin Martin Domingo <agmartin@debian.org>) overridden

discover 2.1.2-8 (binary) (Debian Install System Team <debian-boot@lists.debian.org>)

dtc-common 0.35.5-1 (binary) (Thomas Goirand <zigo@debian.org>)

isenkram-cli 0.41 (binary) (Petter Reinholdtsen <pere@debian.org>) overridden

libpam-runtime 1.3.1-5 (binary) (Steve Langasek <vorlon@debian.org>) overridden

linux-base 4.6 (binary) (Debian Kernel Team <debian-kernel@lists.debian.org>) overridden

nvidia-installer-cleanup 20151021+9 (binary) (Debian NVIDIA Maintainers <pkg-nvidia-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>) overridden

nvidia-support 20151021+9 (binary) (Debian NVIDIA Maintainers <pkg-nvidia-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>) overridden

open-infrastructure-container-tools 20190811-1 (binary) (Daniel Baumann <daniel.baumann@progress-linux.org>)

rlinetd 0.9.1-3+b1 (binary) (Robert Luberda <robert@debian.org>) overridden

rlinetd 0.9.1-3 (binary) (Robert Luberda <robert@debian.org>) overridden

shim-signed-common 1.33+15+1533136590.3beb971-7 (binary) (Debian EFI team <debian-efi@lists.debian.org>) overridden

ssl-cert 1.0.39 (binary) (Debian Apache Maintainers <debian-apache@lists.debian.org>) overridden

texlive-base 2019.20190830-1 (binary) (Debian Tex Maintainers <debian-tex-maint@lists.debian.org>)

ucf 3.0038+nmu1 (binary) (Manoj Srivastava <srivasta@debian.org>) overridden

user-setup 1.81 (binary) (Debian Install System Team <debian-boot@lists.debian.org>) overridden

xfonts-traditional 1.8.0 (binary) (Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>) overridden